Year Of The Nurse 2020

“Taking Stock” Webinars

To celebrate Year of the Nurse, WFPICCS is organizing two “Taking Stock” webinars – Taking Stock of PedsICU Nursing which will solely focus on PedsICU and pediatric/neonatal nursing.

The webinars will cover some pertinent topics and each question will address the high resource setting and low and middle resource setting perspective.

We also have some regional ‘snapshots’ that outline the steps to becoming a PICU nurse in the different countries, the pediatric nursing specialties if relevant and the country profile from the latest State of Nursing report.

Europe – Italy and UK

North America – Canada and USA

Latin America – Brazil

The Caribbean – Guyana

Asia – Singapore and India

Oceania – Australia

AfricaSouth Africa

Session 1 

Webinar recording:  https://tinyurl.com/yycrjk9w

Date: Thursday, 19th November, 2020

Times:

5am Los Angeles / 7am Mexico City / 8am New York / 10am Rio de Janeiro / 1pm London / 2pm Amsterdam / 3pm Cape Town /4pm Nairobi / 6.30pm New Delhi / 9pm Singapore / midnight Sydney / 2am Auckland

Moderator: Lauren Sorce, VP-Nursing, WFPICCS

Topics & Speakers:

1. What strategy should we take to encourage nurses to choose PedsICU / pediatric / and neonatal nursing as a profession? 

     Europe – Joseph Manning, UK and Rachael Morrison, UK

     North America  –  Laurie Lee, Canada and Courtney Nerovich, USA

     Latin America –  Patricia Kuerten Rocha, Brazil

     The Caribbean – Marissa Singh, Guyana

     Asia – Poh Pei Fen, Singapore

     Africa – Natasha North and Mmusetsi Mokwatsi, South Africa

2. What is being done to retain nurses in PedsICU/pediatrics/neonatal medicine and to mitigate brain drain?

     Europe – Joseph Manning, UK and Rachael Morrison, UK

     Oceania – Fenella Gill, Australia

    Asia –  Manjinder Kaur, India and Poh Pei Fen, Singapore

    Africa –Natasha North and Mmusetsi Mokwatsi, South Africa

Session 2

Webinar recording: https://tinyurl.com/y4c6b72e

Date: Thursday, 10 December, 2020

Times:           

5am Los Angeles / 7am Mexico City / 8am New York / 10am Rio de Janeiro / 1pm London / 2pm Amsterdam / 3pm Cape Town / 4pm Nairobi / 6.30pm New Delhi / 9pm Singapore / midnight Sydney / 2am Auckland

Moderator: Lauren Sorce, VP-Nursing, WFPICCS

Topics & Speakers:

1. What is the impact of burnout in your professional community? 

     Europe – Anne-Sylvie Ramelet, Switzerland

     North America  Laurie Lee, Canada and Courtney Nerovich, USA

     Latin America  –  Maria Paula Oliveira Pires, Brazil

     The Caribbean – Chrisann Rodrigues, Guyana

2. If you could share the 3 most pertinent topics impacting PedsICU/pediatric/neonatal nursing in your region what would they be?

     Europe – Orsola Gawronski, Italy and Lyvonne Tume, UK

     North America  – Laurie Lee, Canada and Courtney Nerovich, USA

     Oceania – Fenella Gill, Australia

     Latin America – Mavilde Pedreira, Brazil

     The Caribbean –  Marissa Singh and Chrisann Rodrigues, Guyana

     Asia – Poh Pei Fen, Singapore and Manjinder Kaur, India

     Africa   Minette Coetzee and Mmusetsi Mokwatsi, South Africa

3. What does the future of PedsICU /pediatric/neonatal nursing look like?

Lauren Sorce, USA and Mavilde Pedreira, Brazil