2022 World PICU Awareness Week & Day

2022 World PICU Awareness Week & Day

The World PICU Awareness Week Committee exists to raise awareness about #PedsICU in general and any important themes impacting the specialty by engaging members and key stakeholders in awareness and advocacy activities at a global and regional level.  This 7 day event culminates in World PICU Awareness Day on the 2nd Friday of May, annually.

Chairs:  Ann-Marie Brown, Nurse, USA;  Luca Tortorolo, Physician, Italy; Idah Sendagala, AHP, Uganda

Sandy Staveski, Nurse, USA, North America

Yonca Bulut, Physician, USA, North America

Nate Serazin, Physician, USA, North America

Ivie D. Esangbedo, Physician, USA, North America

Jodi Mullen, Nurse, USA, North America

Blythe Pollack, Nurse, USA, North America

Mary Lihinie deAlmeida, Physician, USA, North America

Rebecca Silvers, Nurse, USA, North America

Stacey Sears, Nurse, USA, North America

Melina Handley, Nurse, USA, North America

Renad Abu-Sawwa, AHP – clinical pharmacist, USA, North America

Kelly Sheridan, AHP – dietician, USA, North America

Cassandra Brodhagen, AHP – Child Life Specialist, USA, North America

Anita Rose, AHP – Family G Tube and Trach Educator (RN), USA, North America

Caroline Potter, AHP – Child Life Specialist, USA, North America

Jodi Bloxham, Nurse, USA, North America

Michael-Alice Moga, Nurse, Canada, North America

Laurie Lee, Nurse, Canada, North America

Nicole Gilbert, AHP – Dietician, Canada, North America

Sebastian Godoy Salinas, AHP, Chile, Latin America

Adriana Ramírez Barrientos, Nurse, Colombia, Latin America

Natalia Andrea Henao Murilllo, Nurse, Colombia, Latin America

Santiago Martínez,  AHP, Chile, Latin America

Cintia Johnston, AHP, Brazil, Latin America

Milagritos López, Nurse, Peru, Latin America

Adriano Conrado, AHP – Occupational Therapist, Brazil, Latin America

Amparito Castro, Nurse, Brazil, Latin America

Ana Paula Bautzer,  AHP – Speech therapist, Brazil, Latin America

Werther Brunow de Carvalho, Physician, Brazil, Latin America

Alejandra Cortés, Physician, Chile, Latin America

Silvio Torres, Physician, Argentina, Latin America

Raffo Escalante, Physician, Perú, Latin America

Francisco José Cambra, Physician, España

Rocio Yerovi, Physician, Ecuador, Latin America

Jesús López-Herce, Physician, España

Jaime Fernández, Physician, Colombia, Latin America

Luis Moya, Physician, Guatemala, Latin America

Fabiola Castro, Physician, Chile, Latin America

Marta Marquez, Physician, México, Latin America

Parveen Kaur,  AHP-Physiotherapist, Singapore, Asia

Yujiro Matsuishi, Nurse, Japan, Asia

Poh Pei Fen, Nurse, Singapore, Asia

Deepika Harish,  Nurse, India, Asia

Milind Jambagi,  Physician, India, Asia

Rakshay Shetty, Physician, India, Asia

Hwa Jin Cho, Physician, South Korea, Asia

Rodelia G. Cipriano, Physician, The Philippines, Asia

Alvin C. Florentino, Physician, The Philippines, Asia

Mellinor A. Ang Physician, The Philippines, Asia

Qalab Abbas, Physician, Pakistan, Asia

Sidra Ishaque, Physician, Pakistan, Asia

Xiaoyang Hong, Physician, China, Asia

Ali Ferguson, AHP – physiotherapist, Australia, Oceania

Sarah Wright, AHP – physiotherapist, Australia, Oceania

Debbie Long, Nurse, Australia, Oceania

Tara-Jane Clark  AHP – Health Psychologist, Australia, Oceania

Rahul Joshi, Physician, Australia, Oceania

Alex Hussey, Physician, New Zealand, Oceania

Paula Lister, Physician, Australia, Oceania

Teresa Campbell, Nurse, Nurse, Oceania

Brenda Morrow, AHP – physiotherapist, South Africa, Africa

Halalisani Ngema, AHP – Social Worker, South Africa, Africa

Irene Chueu, Physician,  South Africa, Africa

Ilse Appel, Physician, South Africa, Africa

Charlyne Kilba, Physician, Ghana, Africa

Jenala Njiram’Madzi, Physician, Malawi, Africa

Laura Ajidiru, AHP, Uganda, Africa

Stella Elikplim Lawerteh, AHP, Ghana, Africa

Dorothy Adjabu, AHP, Ghana, Africa

Asma Salloo, Physician, South Africa, Africa

Prakash M. Jeena, Physician,  South Africa, Africa

Rudo Mathivha, Physician,  South Africa, Africa

Stephilia Tshukutsoane, Nurse, South Africa, Africa

Lincoln Solomon, Physician, South Africa, Africa

Noor Parker, Physician, South Africa, Africa

Halalisani Ngema, AHP – Social worker, South Africa, Africa

Marleen Petersen, Nurse, South Africa, Africa

Bernadet Francis, Nurse,  South Africa, Africa

Manal Alasnag, Physician, Saudi Arabia, Middle East

Maha Ahmad, AHP, Saudi Arabia, Middle East

Feras Abu Dayeh, Nurse, Abu Dhabi, UAE

Joseph Manning, Nurse, UK, Europe

Gawronski Orsola, Nurse, Italy, Europe

Miguel Rodríguez Rubio, Physician, Spain, Europe

Martin Kneijber, Physician, The Netherlands, Europe

Akash Deep, Physician, UK, Europe

Anna Zanin, Physician, Italy, Europe

Simon Gates, AHP – physiotherapist, UK, Europe

Pauline Janssen-Raymkers, Nurse, The Netherlands, Europe

Bianka Rama, Nurse, Italy, Europe

Oğuz Dursun, Physician, Turkey

Zoltan Gyorgyi, Physician, Hungary, Europe

World PICU Awareness Week themeThe Family in the PICU.   Each region will choose a topic relevant to their region and organise a 45min pre-recorded webinar which will be launched on their awareness and will include a live Q&A component at a time convenient to each region.   The World PICU Day will be organised by WFPICCS.

The allocated days for each region in 2022 are:

  • Monday 9th May – Oceania
  • Tuesday 10th May – North America, Latin/South America & The Caribbean
  • Wednesday 11th May – Africa, Europe & Middle East
  • Thursday, 12th May – Asia
  • Friday 13th May – World PICU Day

Daily program during 2022 World PICU Awareness Week

Oceania: Monday 9th May – 8pm AEST / 10pm NZT / 6pm SGT / 3.30pm IST

Watch video

Watch Q&A 

Title: Families in PICU: Perspectives from Oceania 

1. Aotearoa, Inequality and the Whanau (Family) – Alex Hussey, New Zealand

2. Supporting the Whanau (Family) through the PICU journey – Teresa Campbell, New Zealand

3. “Just popped in for a chat”: Establishing a psychology service in The Royal     Children’s Hospital’s PICU – Tara-Jane Clark, Australia

4. The Outback to Brisbane: The challenges of a hospital with a huge catchmentSophie Weeks, Michelle Maunder, Sarah McMahon, Australia

5. EMPATHIC-30 AUS questionnaire: empowering parents in PICU – Fenella Gill, Australia

 

North America: Tuesday 10th May – 6.30pm EST / 5.30pm CDT / 4.30pm MD / 3.30pm PDT / 7.30pm BRT / 10.30pm UTC

Watch video

Watch Q&A 

Title: Discussion of experience, pros and cons of family involvement in the PICU throughout the organ donation process.

1. Parent perspective –  Jennifer Wolfsmith, Canada

Multidisciplinary team:
2. Physician perspective – Sonny Dhanani, Canada
(interviewer/recorder: Michael-Alice Moga)

3. Child life perspective – Alexis Shinewald, Canada
(interviewer/recorder: Casey Brodhagen)

4. Nursing perspective – Lisa Remshik, USA

5. Social worker perspective – Maricel Floresca, USA

 

Latin America & The Caribbean: Tuesday 10th May – 8pm  CLT, EST / 9pm BRT, ART/ 5pm PDT / midnight UTC

Watch video

Watch Q&A 

Title: Families in the PICU: Perspectives from Latin America & The Caribbean

1. Advances in our vision of intensive care in Latin America: Indicators and Education in Latin American PICUs – Jaime Fernández-Sarmiento, Colombia; Raffo Escalante, Peru; Luis Moya, Guatemala; Cintia Johnston, Brazil; Marta Márquez, México; Silvio Torres, Argentina

2. Family and the multidisciplinary team in the PICU: Reality of Latin America – Rocío Yerovi, Ecuador; Fabiola Castro, Chile; EU. Natalia Henao, Colombia; EU. Ana Paula Bautzer, Brazil; EU. Milagritos López, Peru

3. Planning the multidisciplinary discharge from the PICU of medically complex patients: Adapting the model to their needs –Francisco Cambra, Spain; Alejandra Cortés, Chile; Klgo. Santiago Martínez, Chile; TO. Adriano Conrado, Brazil; Klgo. Sebastián Godoy, Chile.

 

Europe & Middle East: Wednesday 11th May –  1pm UTC / 2pm CEST / 3pm AST /  5.30pm IST / 8pm SGT / 10pm AEST / 8am EDT

Watch video

Watch Q&A

1. Welcome – Manal Alasnag, Saudi Arabia

2. Sharing Experiences – A journey around the Middle East – Nilufer Ozturk, Turkey; Fajer Altammar, Kuwait; Razann Babakr, Saudi Arabia

3. Needs of mothers and fathers throughout the hospitalization of their chronic critically ill child – Chantel Grandjean, Switzerland

4. I Was A Parent In PICU – Paulien Raymakers- Janssen, The Netherlands

5. Facilitating Organ Donation – Greatest Gift in Life: A Parent’s Lived Experience – Ilse Fieldsend, UK

6. The Art of Listening – Esse Menson, UK

7. Panel & Moderator Introductions – Akash Deep, UK

 

Africa: Wednesday 11th May – 5.15pm SAST / 6.15pm EAT / 8.45pm IST /11.15pm SGT / 11.15am EDT / 8.15am PDT

Watch video

Watch Q&A

1. Introduction – Ilse Appel, South Africa

2. Cultural diversity in the ICU – Stephilia Tshukutsoane, South Africa

3. “Thula baba” – critical caregiving practices – Brenda Morrow, South Africa

4. Inclusion of caregivers in rehabilitation in PICUs / Shared ICUs – Idah Sendagala, Uganda

5. Socio-economic burden of families of children admitted to Paediatric Intensive Care Units in Low-Middle Income countries – Lincoln Solomon, South Africa

 

Asia: Thursday 12th May – 3pm PKT / 6pm SGT / 8pm AEST /11am UTC / noon CEST

Watch video

Watch Q&A

1. Family-centered care in Asia – Yujiro Matsuishi, Japan

2. Family-centered care in South Korea – Hwa Jin Cho, South Korea

3. Family-centered care in The Philippines – Paula Evangelista, Philippines

4. Family-centered care in Pakistan – Sunita Bahadue Ali, Pakistan

5. A Day in the PICU – Chor Yek Kee, Malaysia

6. Parental experiences in the PICU – Mak Wei Lan, Singapore

7. Families in PICU – An experience from India – Milind Jambagi AND Mrs Alam, Mr Rajshekar (parents), Sister Suvarna, Drs Ravikiran, Ranganath

 

World PICU Day: Friday 13th May –  5am PDT / 8am EDT / 1pm UTC / 2pm CEST / 5.30pm IST / 8pm SGT / 10pm AEST

Watch video

Watch Q&A

 

A number of individuals both family members and PICU staff will answer the following questions:

1. Questions for Families
a. ­What did the PICU/healthcare team do during your hospital stay that was most helpful to you as a family?
b. ­What happened during your PICU stay that was the hardest or most frustrating?

Questions for PICU staff
­a. What practices are most important to optimize the care of patients and family during pediatric critical illness?
b. What are the greatest barriers to provide the best family centered care during pediatric critical illness?

Then for the live Q&A after the videos, we will ask the participants the following question:
a. With your regional practices and resources in mind, what do you think are the top 3 best practices for family centered care in the PICU/pediatric critical illness?